July 21, 2017 Log In

New CoGS members meet

By Marites N. Sison on July, 06 2013

The newly-elected members of the Council of General Synod met briefly during the 2013 General Synod meeting in Ottawa. Photo: Art Babych


Archdeacon Michael Thompson, the national church’s general secretary, underscored the importance of the work that’s before the Council of General Synod (CoGS) at the initial meeting of its newly elected members on July 6.

CoGS—the church’s governing body in between General Synods—is “vital to the effective functioning of the national church,” said Thompson. The work is made more important by the fact that the Anglican Church of Canada is ushering in a period of “change and renewal,” he said. “It is both a challenging and adventurous time.”
During their meeting here, General Synod, the church’s governing body, approved resolutions that will bring about “structural changes” to the church’s governance and ministries.

An important piece of work facing the new CoGS when it officially meets in November is the approval of a budget for 2014.

To give members a “head start,” four teleconferences will be arranged with General Synod treasurer Hanna Goschy and himself, said Thompson. “We want the process to have lots of visibility,” said Thompson, adding that this process will empower new members to fulfill their roles effectively. 

At its meeting, CoGS also held elections for various positions. Dean Peter Wall, diocese of Niagara, was elected as the church’s representative to The Episcopal Church in the United States’ National Executive Council.  Cynthia Haines-Turner, diocese of Western Newfoundland, was elected representative to the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada’s National Church Council. Melissa Greene and Bishop Jane Alexander were elected as officers of CoGS.





Back to Top
By Marites N. Sison | July, 06 2013

About the Author

Marites N. Sison

Marites N. Sison

Marites N. Sison is editor of the Anglican Journal. 

Add A Comment


Allowed HTML: <b>, <i>, <u>


Copyright © Anglican Journal 2017